lunes, 14 de mayo de 2007

Today we got home from school and we were starving as usual. Ricardo wasn´t home and we didn´t see anything to eat in the fridge so we decided to eat some cereal and take a nap. Well, he came home in the middle of us eating and made this huge deal. He said, ¨Margarita is going to divorce me!¨ And kept saying how bad he felt that we were eating. We kept telling him that we were completely fine with cereal, but he insisted on making us omelets and promised to drive us to fhe. We felt so bad for upsetting him.We were both really exhausted so we went upstairs and fell asleep. I woke up two hours later and started reading grammar book to brush up, but I was really tired so I went back to sleep. I finally got up about an hour before we left for fhe and realized I had to prepare the lesson. I had no resources! No internet, no marked scriptures, no ensign, it was really hard, but I figured something out and it went well. We had some funny cultural experiences today. On the bus on the way to school there was this girl totally staring at us! But not just staring, glaring. It was so weird because she would do it for extended periods of time. We thought it was so funny that we took a picture and a video of her, which I will post soon. So many people here just think it is okay to stare at us! Especially guys.Anyway, later we were walking to the car with Ricardo and it was parked a ways away on the street. Instead of walking on the sidewalk, Ricardo opted to walk through the middle of the street, and with the way people drive here, I wouldn´t recommend it. But he just kept walking like he was doing something completely normal and the cars would just part like he had every right to be taking up an entire lane. We were driving in Junior´s car, and in the backseat there was this sign to go in the window with a giant L on it. As we were driving we saw another one and we asked Ricardo what it meant. I guess in Spain when you commit certain types of traffic offenses you have to wear a huge L in your back window to warn other drivers about how much you suck at driving and tell police to keep an eye out for you. People with an L aren´t allowed to go over 80 km per hour which I think is about 50 mph and they have to keep it for a whole year. Junior has to put one in every time he drives. Funny! Last thing, they leave food out here for entirely too long. One time there was a drumstick sitting on the counter for at least two or three days, and Junior´s dinner from last night is still sitting on the table waiting for him. It smells awful and I really don´t appreciate taking my meals at the same table as it. So unsanitary.Oh, and I almost forgot. Yesterday I left sacrament meeting and one of the missionaries in the corridor had taken a dance class with me my first semester of freshman year. It was so weird to see him in some random chapel in the middle of Spain! Small world when you are mormon I guess.Anyway, that is all I´ve got for today.

2 comentarios:

c-natalie-l-k-l dijo...

Mmmmm, old meat! I love it! It sounds like you are doing soooo many things! Some people just don't understand--when you have to eat, YOU HAVE TO EAT! I hope you survive!! :)

Diane dijo...

Thanks Gianna for posting frequently on your blog and keeping us updated. It is amazing the cultural differences.
Diane